» Heterothele Villosella
by Salt Mon May 02, 2016 8:50 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 FAQ
 Search

First post.... lots of questions probably!

:: Bugs N Stuff :: Ants

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

First post.... lots of questions probably!

Post by swishtony on Mon Apr 20, 2015 2:54 am

Hi all, first post and a total novice so please bear with me!

I have just purchased this ant farm from Antstore in Germany and have followed Myrm's instructions as to how to set everything up. I purchased a queen and about 10 workers.

I have done exactly what was suggested and am now about 4 days in. However, the queen has not left the test tube (which is in the foraging tank) and the ants have built her a nest into the tube. Bit worried as I just read that once a queen is in her nest she rarely moves out of it. None of the ants seem to want to venture into the nesting area so I'm wondering how a nest will be established in there?

A few of the ants have ventured about halfway up the tube but then always seem to turn back, I'm assuming the steepness of the tube should not be a problem?

I was wondering if, once I'm sure all the ants are in the tube, I should attach the tube directly to the nesting tank (I'm not sure that's what it's called!) so they have no choice but to enter it and start nesting there? Or do I just need to be more patient and hope they eventually migrate?

Many thanks, look forward to using this forum and hopefully one day being able to answer other peoples questions!

swishtony

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: First post.... lots of questions probably!

Post by Guest on Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:17 am

Hi Swishtony, and welcome to the Bug Forum. A big thank you from me for supporting my awesome buddy, Dermy in getting his forum as active as possible.

What species of ant did you get?